SCI Flint Regional Chapter 33rd Annual Awards Banquet

The SCI Flint 33rd Annual Awards banquet was held on Friday, August 1, 2016 at the Davison Country Club.  143 members, spouses and friends attended the event!

Awards committee members John Kupiec, Matt Bluntzer, and George Peterman planned the event for the chapter and John served as Master of Ceremonies for the night once again. Dinner included grilled NY Strip Steak, corn on the cob, salads, mashed redskin potatoes, and great desserts.  Appetizers of stuffed mushroom caps, meatballs in mushroom sauce, assortment of cheese and crackers as well as several different veggies supplied by Davison Country Club. (Dinner is free to all members and a guest for this event.) Guests enjoyed several raffles, reverse bingo, and a wonderful silent auction.

Ron and Karen Douglas were presented the Joseph Schotthoefer Service Award. Ron and Karen have served as Silent Auction Chairman and helped make many of our events very successful.  Ron served as our Chapter President and Hunt Donor Chairman.  Special “Thank You” for your time and talent.

Steven Mosby was presented with his  Jim George Scholarship.  This $500.00 scholarship is presented to high school graduate that applies and is selected based on a 500 word essay (see page 25) describing why hunting is important to conservation and letters of recommendation.

Principal Jamie Johnston of Swartz Creek High School received a $9,000 grant for Archery in the Schools program funded by SCI Flint Regional Chapter.

Eagle Scout Winner – Nathan McCatty received a check for his project completed at Flint Bowmen’s Club funded partially with a grant from SCI Flint. (See story on page 18)

Recognition Awards for serving on the SCI Board of Directors were presented to Ron Douglas and Matt Bluntzer.  Thank you for your dedication to our chapter and helping to preserve our Right to Hunt!

Twelve members entered 31 outstanding trophies in the awards program this year, about the same as 2015.

Major Awards:

2015 HR Somers International Hunting Award- Glenn Brown, White Blesbok 44 2/8

2015 Ed Minto North American Hunting Award- Debbie Porter, American Alligator 12’ 3”

2015 Carl E. Sweers Memorial Whitetail Award- John Rubel,  Mid-Western White-tailed Deer (non-typical) 172 3/8

2015 John F. Gall Michigan Whitetail Award-John Kupiec,  Northeastern White-tailed Deer (typical) 114 4/8

2015 People’s Choice Award- John Kupiec with Marco Polo Sheep taken in Hot Springs, Tajikistan in November of 2015 with Safari Outfitters.

Category Awards:

2015 Best Overall Archery Division-Glenn Brown, White Blesbok 44 2/8

2015 Best Overall Rifle Division-John Rubel, Midwestern White-tailed Deer (non-typical) 172 3/8

2015 Best Overall Muzzleloader Division-John  Kupiec, Mid-Western White-tailed Deer (typical) 155 4/8

2015 Best Overall Turkey-Brian Muench, Osceola Turkey 60

2015 Best Overall Youth Trophy-Addison Porter, Warthog 23 3/16

2015 Alternate Means- Debbie Porter, Bangstick

2015 Best Overall Estate Trophy- Carl A. Portner Jr., Northeastern White-tailed Deer (non-typical) 246 1/8

Comments are closed.